Sweet moments.

This summer, near the very beginning of the summer [I think it was the first real week of camp] we were facing a lot of difficult circumstantial issues. There were many things that kept cropping up, and so I wasn’t really surprised when Cheryl Anne asked me to announce for all the support staff to gather together after chapel.

There we all were, sitting on the back porch of the Henson Haus, the mountain air cool and the sky almost black with darkness. Some were perched precariously on the edge of the railing, others sitting in chairs or against the building. We could hear the yelling of campers waiting for their night medicine at the infirmary along with the constant chirping of the crickets. And there, in the middle of our circle, lay sweet Jessie the dog, who always seems to know where she is supposed to be.

This was our team for the summer, and this was one of our first moments in the trenches. We sat together, heard the needs, and began to pray. One by one people spoke up to pray for our fellow staff members, the campers we were ministering to, our beloved camp, and most of all for the kingdom. We prayed for God to demonstrate His sovereignty, to be merciful to us, to demonstrate His goodness and glory through whatever circumstances He decided to give us.

As the popcorn prayer wound down, the Holy Spirit spoke to my heart. ‘Sing.’ He said. I ignored Him. ‘Sing.’ I brushed it off. Finally it was loud enough I couldn’t ignore it. I knew exactly what song to ask everyone to sing. So we sang.

I love You Lord
And I lift my voice
To worship You
Oh my soul
Rejoice
Take joy, my King,
In what You hear,
May it be a sweet, sweet sound
In Your ear.

As we finished singing, everyone slowly looked up and around, letting the silence linger in the air. It was a sweet moment, full of unity and peace. Dave and Jeremy said a few words, then we dismissed and went to bed – the next day was too full to sit and chat.

—–

I am grateful for this summer, for the sweet memories like this one that I want to capture and write down while I still remember. I am grateful for prayer and the gospel and common kingdom goals. I’m grateful for a team like this one to strive side-by-side for the sake of the gospel. I know that we, in that incarnation, will never be together again, which makes those moments all the more precious for my soul.

These are some of the finest people I’ve worked with on support staff. They were a joy.

_DSC0557

Leave a Reply

