He is faithful to finish it.

I got an email tonight while reading/planning at Starbucks. It’s from a former camper who I talked to a little bit this past summer. Here’s part of it:

Subject: He who began a good work in you will carry it to completion

…When camp ended, I just couldn’t get over what you and I talked about. What you wrote on that card, I never forgot. I literally framed it and read it everyday. So I decided to act upon it. I started doing a devotion book every morning, that allowed me to look up verses in my Bible and use them throughout my day. I began memorizing and actually understanding what I was reading. I try to make sure it’s not part of my routine, I want it to be something I look forward to, not something I have to. “He who began a good work in you will carry it out to completion.” Its something that i actually believe now. Lets just say, it truly changed my life. Ever since that one week in the summer, my relationship with my parents has been better, my eating habits are better, and my attitude towards life has totally changed. I even joined my Churches youth group! No longer am I on a rocky road with God but I have realized that when I’m at my weakest I’m at my strongest and he’s always there for me…

All my discontentment with life and my messy “Why, Lord?” emotions went away. I am…so undeserving to get emails like this. What a gift of grace. And even more than that, I am so undeserving of this life. I don’t just get to tell girls like this one about God’s faithfulness during the summer, I get to do it all the time. I get to introduce people to the God that will never let go of them. All of life is kingdom life, but boy do I get a front row seat to His action.

So today I end the day thankful. I’m thankful for fun freshman who are using my [sweet!] dance moves during their lip sync. I’m thankful for heart carrots and the opportunity to serve a sick roommate. I’m thankful for NT Wright and a new understanding of the gospels. I’m thankful for Casa Cielo coffee and a forgotten gift card that allowed me to buy some. I’m thankful for worship music that soothes my soul. I’m thankful for wonderful emails that bring me to tears. And most of all, I’m thankful for God’s grace that allows me [broken and sinful and messy and rebellious me!] to be called a saint, a member of the household of God, and a minister of the new covenant. He is good.

 

One thought on “He is faithful to finish it.

Leave a Reply

