Rest

This job is exhausting.

I was at school for 15.5 hours on Monday. Most days I’m at school for 9 hours, or if I leave early [meaning before 6:30] I’ve got more work to do at home/Starbucks. It’s never done. There’s more to do, more to grade, more to plan, more emails to send, more to evaluate. And let’s not even talk about my house. Or the fact that all I eat is coffee and cookies because I’m never home to make myself dinner. I haven’t gone grocery shopping in 2 weeks.

But as I was sitting here letting myself feel the back-ache and drain [physical, mental, spiritual], my thoughts immediately went to Jesus.

I am so grateful that my relationship with God is not based on my performance. The strain and exhaustion I feel from work does not transfer to kingdom life. Today, right now, in this moment, I can rest. I am loved, loved, loved by Jesus, solely because of His perfect life and His work. I don’t have to prove myself to God, earn his favor or fear His rejection. My lot is secure. Oh He loves.

And for this weary, weary soul, that is the best news I could hear today.

 

Leave a Reply

