Watercolor Shoes

I’ve organized the blog a little better; even though I doubt my frequency of posting will increase, I wanted to have a bit more organization.

I really wanted this pair of TOMS:

Until I saw them in person. And I didn’t like them so much. And while I’ve been known to spend money on shoes, namely Chacos, it seemed like a waste of money.

So I made these:



Here’s how:
Step 1. Buy plain white canvas shoes. Mine were from K-Mart, but they have these almost anywhere. They were, as you can see, $7.99. AND I bought two pairs of them [the other pair was a tan pair that I didn’t paint], so they were Buy 1 Get 1 50% off. So technically they were $6. 🙂

Step 2: Mix acrylic paint with textile medium and stir, stir, stir.

I’d seen some tutorials of how to do watercolor effects using fabric paint or actual watercolors, but I knew the actual watercolors would wash out and I didn’t want to buy fabric paint just for this. Enter textile medium:

I got mine awhile back for less than $5 at Hobby Lobby. The instructions are to mix 1 part textile medium to 2 parts acrylic paint, but I used about a 1 to 1 ratio. The paint I used was just what I had on hand:

Step 3: Add water to your paint mixture. I don’t have any ratios – I just eyeballed it. You can see how translucent the paint is on the side of the cups.

Step 4: Test your paint mixture/colors! This was my scrap of fabric I used. You can see how that orange in the left is too watery…and I decided I just wanted to keep it simple with my colors.

Step 5: Paint it on! Drip it, paint it, etc.

Step 6: Let dry, then throw in the dryer.

The textile medium says to iron to heat set, so I figured the dryer would do the trick just as well. I didn’t wait for my paint to dry fully [I am so impatient], so it splattered a little bit in places. If you wait until there is no wet spots, I’m sure it’ll dry perfectly. I don’t have any pictures of this step, obviously.

Step 7: Enjoy your incredibly awesome watercolored shoes.

-Snix

One thought on “Watercolor Shoes

Leave a Reply

