Tetelestai.

’Tis finished! The Messiah dies,
Cut off for sins, but not His own:
Accomplished is the sacrifice,
The great redeeming work is done.

’Tis finished! all the debt is paid;
Justice divine is satisfied;
The grand and full atonement made;
God for a guilty world hath died.

The veil is rent in Christ alone;
The living way to heaven is seen;
The middle wall is broken down,
And all mankind may enter in.

The types and figures are fulfilled;
Exacted is the legal pain;
The precious promises are sealed;
The spotless Lamb of God is slain.

The reign of sin and death is o’er,
And all may live from sin set free;
Satan hath lost his mortal power;
’Tis swallowed up in victory.

Saved from the legal curse I am,
My Savior hangs on yonder tree:
See there the meek, expiring Lamb!
’Tis finished! He expires for me.

Accepted in the Well-beloved,
And clothed in righteousness divine,
I see the bar to heaven removed;
And all Thy merits, Lord, are mine.

Death, hell, and sin are now subdued;
All grace is now to sinners given;
And lo, I plead the atoning blood,
And in Thy right I claim Thy heaven!

‘Tis Finished! The Messiah Dies by Charles Wesley

What great truth this Good Friday. I wanted to take just one stanza and post it, but I couldn’t pick. This is just a very rich hymn of atonement.

“What does this have to do with student teaching?” you may ask.
“Everything” I say in response.
This is the truth I want my students to know and love. This is the truth that has given me life. This is the truth that motivates me to give myself fully to loving these students. This is the truth that secures my acceptance with God. This is the truth that allows me to come before God boldly to pray for my students. This is the truth that gives me reason to wake up every morning.
The gospel is everything.

I want my students to see that all that I do, inside of the classroom and out, is because of the great redemptive work of Christ – because I once was far away and now have been brought near. I want them to see that in me.

May the truth of Good Friday – the truth of the gospel – permeate my life and yours.
-Snix.

Leave a Reply

