Spreak Break 2010!!!

I’ve been in Columbia almost a whole week. And I miss my students so much that my heart hurts. They probably wouldn’t believe me if I told them, but I do. I miss seeing them in the halls in the morning, miss having them come into class, miss hearing conversations and being reminded to pray for them. I miss just being around them. I could talk about them all day long, but really, as much as my friends love me, they do not want to hear me talk that much.

One of my students lent me “Irrisistable Revolution” by Shane Claiborne, so I’ve been reading that this break. It’s a really…interesting book. But one of the best parts is when he quotes Mother Teresa: “Find your own Calcutta”.

Where is the place, the thing, the context that God has called me to go and give all of myself? Even more importantly, who am I to devote my life to serving? Will it be the physically poor in Africa? Will it be the spiritually poor in America? Will it be a combination of any of those? I don’t know.

But I do know this – if God gives me the enormous privilege of giving my life to students like the 70 I’ve grown to know and love these past few weeks, then I will die happy. Sometimes God calls us to things and our hearts grow to love them. Sometimes He calls us to things and we are delighted from the get-go. Being able to serve and love these students has been one of the most wonderful things I could have ever asked for. Even better than ice cream.

Much love,
Snix.
P.S. It’s my birthday! Yay Jesus, for being faithful for 22 years!

Leave a Reply

