Regrets.

Have you ever regretted something?
You know, like maybe when you and your boyfriend decided to go out in matching outfits?


Yeeaah. Like that.

I’ve found that there are things I’ve regretted about student teaching. There are things I wished I had been better at. I wish I had gone to the basketball games when the guys were still playing. I wish I had taken more pictures. I wish I had been more bold in getting to know more of my students. I wish some of my lessons were different, that I had talked slower, that I had loved better. I regret sometimes when I stayed up looking at articles when I should have gone to bed.

But I’m reminded today that God doesn’t have regrets. He’s got nothing that He looks at and says “yeah, should have done better”. He doesn’t cringe when He sees any of His works and actions. Like Psalm 18:30 says, “This God—his way is perfect; the word of the Lord proves true…” Or the people of Jesus’ day, when they saw Him do miracles and said “He has done all things well” (Mark 7:37). And even when I don’t believe it, this extends to me. In making me, in placing me where He did, in saving me, He has no regrets. He doesn’t look at my life, even with the mistakes I’ve made, and regret sending Christ.

I may regret relationships, mistakes, giving my heart to someone. But He does not and will not ever regret entering into a relationship with me.

This causes me to live so much more freely. When I remind myself of this truth, I don’t fear that God is going to say “Hey, I’ve had enough, peace out”. I don’t have to live in a paralyzing place where I’m terrified of making mistakes. I can begin to simply live, unconscious of self. I focus on the glorious truth of this gospel and I am freed.

What a needed reminder..

“This God—his way is perfect; the word of the LORD proves true; he is a shield for all those who take refuge in him.”
-Psalm 18:30

-Snix.

One thought on “Regrets.

  1. I stumbled across this blog today and was reminded of just how absolutely wonderful you are. your stories, your pictures, your insight, your honesty – I am so, so, so happy to be able to follow along with some of your adventures. I was tempted to leave a comment on almost every post, agreeing or amiling or telling you how much I enjoyed reading it, but instead decided that I would express all those thoughts into just one.

    thank you for being you, for being honest, for being real, and for loving jesus.
    may it continue to mean more than you know.

Leave a Reply

