The Lord loves justice…

How long will you defend the crooked and the hard?
Our eyes are lost on men running with the stars

Oh all the earth is yours
Oh be not silent, Lord

How long will you be still, when will it be time?
Our homes are burning there is no help in sight

Come and rescue the needy come and find all the lost
You take us to the river where the water rolls and rolls and rolls
Come and heal all the broken come defend all you love
You will call us your children, daughters and sons

Be Not Silent is from Enter the Worship Circle Vol. 3.

Most of the people I know who care deeply about social justice don’t care much about personal holiness.
Most of the people I know who care deeply about personal holiness don’t care much about social justice.

Both try to make God into what they want. We make Him into a God who doesn’t care if we sleep with whoever we want as long as we defend the cause of the orphans or widows. Or we make Him into a God who doesn’t really care if we personally get involved with issues of injustice, as long as we aren’t greedy or full of lies.

But the God I see in and know from the Bible is a God who loves justice and righteousness. The two aren’t exclusive.
So why don’t we strike a balance?
Why do I feel like I have to choose one or the other?

In Micah 6:8 the people of Israel are told in their “divine court case” what God wants of them:

He has told you, O man, what is good; and what does the LORD require of you but to do justice [theme of Amos], and to love kindness [theme of Hosea], and to walk humbly with your God[theme of Isaiah]?

It is only in response to God’s hesed (ultimately revealed in Christ) that I can balance these two issues. It’s then that I offer not only all of my body as “members of righteousness”, but also seek to serve and love others. In the words of my friend Nik, “We work because of God’s work in us, not so God may work for or in favor of us” . When I see Christ’s atoning clearly, I’ll be able to do justice, to love mercy, and walk humbly with God.

May I so clearly see Christ that I’m willing to give all of my life in response to Him. May I delight in knowing Him and making Him known. May I learn, even if it takes my whole life, to value Him so much that I value both righteousness and justice.

-Snix.
(Today in class I showed a video from Sex + Money. We also watched this Piper video)

Leave a Reply

