I read an article…

A really good article (surprise, surprise). Ok, it’s a blog post and not an article, but I had to put that in there. It’s about how much of a person’s sexual past you should know when dating them. The girl who is asking the question seems to be rather hung up on whether or not the guy she thinks is Mr. Wonderful is a virgin or not. The best part of the article is at the end:

You are not “owed” a virgin because you are. Your sexual purity wasn’t part of a quid pro quo in which God would guarantee you a sexually unbroken man. Your sexual purity is your obligation as a creature of God. And you have rebelled at other points, and been forgiven. If you believe the gospel, you believe the gospel for everyone, and not just for yourself.

If your future husband is repentant, and forgiven, and yet you are “tortured” by the thoughts of his past, then the issue for you is one of personal pride and a refusal to see oneself as a gospel-forgiven sinner.

The issue for you with your future husband is discerning whether there are ongoing patterns, whether he agrees with God about the severity of this sin, and whether he has been cleansed from it by Golgotha Hill blood and Garden Tomb power.

Jesus was a virgin. His Bride wasn’t. He loved us anyway.

That is just good gospel truth. Anytime I can’t “get over” someone’s sin, it’s because I can’t see myself as a sinner saved solely by grace. It reminds me of in high school when I was a self righteous **censored**. The problem was, more than anything, that I didn’t really see myself as a sinner, or at least my particular sins that bad.

Oh, but the truth is that I am far more sinful and selfish than anyone ever would know. I am the most selfish, selfish person (in the world seems inadequate, but it’s the best I’ve got). I am wicked. I am consumed with myself. I am prideful and mean and arrogant and stubborn and just rebellious.

And yet those designations that I rightfully deserve aren’t mine. I am forgiven and loved. I am holy and righteous. I belong to Someone.

Amen and amen.

Leave a Reply

