This is love.

I’ve officially decided – I like teaching because I love these students. I don’t want to be a teacher (only), I want to be a discipler.

I wish that I could go out to coffee with some of my students and just hear about their lives. I want to listen to them tell me about themselves. I want to cry with them and laugh with them and learn about their lives.
But I feel like it’s unfair for me to do that when I’m leaving in 4 weeks. It seems unfair for me to ask them to open up when I won’t be able to continue to go get coffee. And while I am pretty good at the long-distance discipleship thing (hello, Grace), who really wants to share their heart when it’s about to be long-distance? No one, that’s who.

But I want to hear about their hopes and dreams (I feel like Josie Gellar from Never Been Kissed…“So what are your hopes, your dreams, what do you want to be?”). I want to hear about their doubts and fears. I want to know them.

I have been looking at different analyses of spiritual gifts online, and one thing I read said that the difference between the gift of prophecy and the gift of teaching is that the gift of prophecy is not planned. It just happens. The gift of teaching, however, is planned. I like planning, but I love it when I feel the Holy Spirit nudge me to speak something specific. Daily I end up saying different things in every class because He will move me to say something to one class that another class doesn’t need to hear.

Anyway, this is a post full of absolutely nothing. But I feel bad for a lack of posting, so there it is. šŸ™‚

-Snix.

2 thoughts on “This is love.

  1. ps: i’m so sorry about not being on skype tonight!
    i ended up going to some of my girls soccer game…

Leave a Reply

