anchor verses.

When we were getting ready for student teaching and we had set aside quiet times during class, Dr. C told us that we should look for our anchor verses – those verses that we go to in times of trouble. These are the verses that deeply hold our hearts to the Lord, remind us of His gracious mercy and wonderful love.

This Friday, I had my students share their anchor verses in some of the classes. I had them write them down and I brought them home to read.
Here’s a few of theirs:

Psalm 56:9 – “Then my enemies will turn back in the day when I call; this I know, that God is for me.”

2 Timothy 4:17-18 – “But the Lord stood at my side and gave me strength, so that through me the message might be fully proclaimed and all the Gentiles might hear it. And I was delivered from the lion’s mouth. The Lord will rescue me from every evil attack and will bring me safely to his heavenly kingdom. To him be glory for ever and ever. Amen.”

Hebrews 12:1-4 – “Therefore, since we are surrounded by such a great cloud of witnesses, let us throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles, and let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us. Let us fix our eyes on Jesus, the author and perfecter of our faith, who for the joy set before him endured the cross, scorning its shame, and sat down at the right hand of the throne of God. Consider him who endured such opposition from sinful men, so that you will not grow weary and lose heart. In your struggle against sin, you have not yet resisted to the point of shedding your blood.”

Psalm 42:8 – “By day the Lord directs his love, at night his song is with me—”

Mark 9:24 – “Immediately the boy’s father exclaimed, “I do believe; help me overcome my unbelief!””

2 Chronicles 16:9 – “For the eyes of the Lord range throughout the earth to strengthen those whose hearts are fully committed to him”

Proverbs 28:1 – “The wicked flee when no one is pursuing, but the righteous are as bold as a lion.”

Psalm 62:5-8, 11-12 –  “Find rest, O my soul, in God alone; my hope comes from him. He alone is my rock and my salvation; he is my fortress, I will not be shaken. My salvation and my honor depend on God; he is my mighty rock, my refuge.  Trust in him at all times, O people; pour out your hearts to him, for God is our refuge…One thing God has spoken, two things have I heard: that you, O God, are strong, and that you, O Lord, are loving.”

Psalm 86:1-5 – “Hear, O Lord, and answer me, for I am poor and needy. Guard my life, for I am devoted to you. You are my God; save your servant who trusts in you. Have mercy on me, O Lord, for I call to you all day long. Bring joy to your servant, for to you, O Lord, I lift up my soul. You are forgiving and good, O Lord, abounding in love to all who call to you.”

1 John 5:3-4 – “This is love for God: to obey his commands. And his commands are not burdensome, for everyone born of God overcomes the world. This is the victory that has overcome the world, even our faith.”

Habakkuk 3:17-19 – “Though the fig tree does not bud and there are no grapes on the vines, though the olive crop fails and the fields produce no food, though there are no sheep in the pen and no cattle in the stalls, yet I will rejoice in the Lord, I will be joyful in God my Savior. The Sovereign Lord is my strength; he makes my feet like the feet of a deer, he enables me to go on the heights.”

James 1:2-3 – “Consider it pure joy, my brothers, whenever you face trials of many kinds, because you know that the testing of your faith develops perseverance.”

Psalm 91:1-2 – “He who dwells in the shelter of the Most High will rest in the shadow of the Almighty. I will say of the Lord, “He is my refuge and my fortress,
my God, in whom I trust.””

1 Peter 1:8 – “Though you have not seen him, you love him; and even though you do not see him now, you believe in him and are filled with an inexpressible and glorious joy”

And full chapters:
Romans 1
Philippians 3
James 1
Zephaniah 3
Romans 8
Psalm 121

I hope that perhaps you’ve found some encouragement even in these verses that have encouraged my students. I’m daily reminded of the power of the Word and HIS power in working through it!

I am so thankful for every one of these students and all they teach me about the Lord!

Much love,
Snix.

Leave a Reply

