Words, words, words.

“Either make the tree good and its fruit good, or make the tree bad and its fruit bad, for the tree is known by its fruit.  You brood of vipers! How can you speak good, when you are evil? For out of the abundance of the heart the mouth speaks.  The good person out of his good treasure brings forth good, and the evil person out of his evil treasure brings forth evil. I tell you, on the day of judgment  people will give account for every careless word they speak, for by your words you will be justified, and by your words you will be condemned.”
-Matthew 12:33-37

Today we had staff devotions and talked about this passage. Dr. Reel, the superintendent spoke of the fact that as teachers we spend all day talking. All day we say words after words. One day, we’ll be held accountable for those words. It is absolutely sobering and I feel like I need to ask the Lord to continue to transform my heart so the overflow of my heart will be righteous and life-giving words.

Today also, I gave my first test. All of this seems so natural, in spite of the fact that I still have “I don’t know!” moments every single hour. I’m grading them now and the only thing I don’t like is when students get bad grades.

Today I’m leaving for a camp retreat, and then will be in Columbia from Sunday until Tuesday. I’m looking  forward to seeing friends and getting a lot of work done for the next unit.

Sorry for the lack of updates. I’m going to try to be more intentional in the forthcoming weeks. 🙂

-Snix.

Leave a Reply

